Research Departments Physiology 20201130 Personal Touch Pieter Leermakers
29 November 2020

Could you tell us something about your work at the department?
I am going to join Joost, Jeroen and Gijs in the scientific quest to establish the physiological role of CNNM2 in magnesium transport.

Could you describe yourself in a few words:
I am an outdoors person that likes to be active and do things with my family. I am also a coffee addict, so I you need me I will likely be found somewhere around the coffee machine. 

What do you normally do in the weekends?
Weekends are usually packed with family time and, depending on the time of the year, food- and music-festivals and sport events. I also like to ‘terrasje pakken’ and to BBQ as much as possible.

What are your hobbies and can you tell us something about your favorite one?
My main hobby would be road cycling, but I also love to run, hike, play tennis and just be outside. Furthermore, I used to play bass guitar and I intent to start with this again now that I am back in the Netherlands. My favorite hobby is road cycling and I usually go abroad on several occasions each year to find some well known mountain passages or nasty pieces of unknown road to conquer. Also, I like the science part of sports and try to collect as much fitness-related data of myself as possible. However, corona makes this a little bit more difficult and I had to postpone a few trips due to governmental regulations.

Could you describe your best holiday?
The best holiday combines sporting activities with relaxing in great weather and nice nature in good company. I, for example, love to join my friends and take my road bike up the volcano el Teide in Tenerife and spend the rest of the day enjoying a few beers at the beach, go canoeing on the Ardeche river with my family and drink some nice wines near our camping grounds, or hike all day across the Scotland Highlands and enjoy a few whisky’s in Fort William, Pitlochry or Dufftown. 

What is your dream for the future?
My dream is to lead a happy life, contribute a little bit to society and the world, and do good by my family. I guess my most important dream is that I want to see my son grow up to be a good and thriving person.

Please add a picture of yourself during a certain activity and add here a note explaning the photo:
This picture is taken In Aarhus Denmark while hiking with my son in Marselisborg Skov.

 

Related news items


Employees Personal Touch Willem Bosman

28 December 2020

In the monthly 'Employee's personal touch' an employee answers a few questions about the work, all with a personal touch. Now Willem Bosman tells us his story.

read more

PhD degree for Chao Ma

11 December 2020

Chao Ma obtained his PhD degree in the Medical Science of the Radboud University

read more

Chaotic Xmas gathering

8 December 2020

On 8 December was the annual Christmas meeting, this year online. Curious to find out more?

read more

Physiology Birthday Calendar revealed

1 December 2020

During the Lab Day Out at 24 September a lot of photos were made and used to make a calendar.

read more

Happy Holiday Season Best wishes for 2021

30 November 2020

The department of Physiology wishes you a Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year.

read more